The NUS Singapore Prize 2024

At the recent Toto draw, one lucky punter scored an amazing Group 2 prize worth more than $1 million on one ticket, making it the single-biggest jackpot win this year. According to Toto results website reports, this winning ticket was purchased through Singapore Pools app online; although whether or not the individual or syndicate was responsible remains unknown.

NUS has recently established the NUS Singapore History Prize 2024 to encourage scholarly work on Singaporean history. Open to any publications published between 1 June 2020 and 30 May 2024 that focus on any aspect of Singapore’s past, the prize was proposed by Professor Kishore Mahbubani of NUS’ Department of History and East Asian Institute Director in support of Singapore’s 50th Anniversary celebrations (SG50 programme).

NUS will select a jury to judge submissions, with their decisions being final. The inaugural winners of this prize will be announced in October this year. Mahbubani states: “American social historian Benedict Anderson noted that nations are imagined communities, with history providing a critical bond that keeps societies together.” With its SG50 prize, NUS wants to encourage scholars and the general public to discover new facts and insights regarding Singapore’s remarkable journey towards becoming a global city-state.

On Tuesday (Apr 16), novelist Meira Chand, Malay dance veteran Osman Abdul Hamid and arts administrator Suchen Christine Lim received Singapore’s top cultural honour – the Cultural Medallion from President Tharman Shanmugaratnam at a ceremony at Istana. It is widely considered one of the highest honours in Singapore arts scene and honours those who have made significant contributions towards developing and enriching its arts scene.

NAC issued a statement explaining that, while they had withdrew funding for Liew and his team due to its contentious novel in 2015, they still offered assistance through various initiatives including arts housing subsidies and performance fees. He had been frequenting Goodman Arts Centre – NAC’s venue.

On Tuesday night in Singapore, 15 individuals were honored at the third Earthshot Prize awards ceremony. Attending were Prince William, Oscar winner Cate Blanchett, actors Donnie Yen and Lana Condor as well as Australian wildlife conservationist Robert Irwin. The five winning innovations ranged from solar-powered dryers that fight food waste to making electric car batteries more sustainable, according to Prince Charles, and demonstrated hope as climate change takes hold. Over 1,000 individuals and organisations submitted applications for this prize funded by Temasek Trust; its winner was then selected by an impartial panel of judges from fields including science, technology, engineering and mathematics.